Home Knowledge Nobel Prize in Literature from 1901 to 2019

Nobel Prize in Literature from 1901 to 2019

by Naz khaliq
Nobel Prize winners
Nobel Prize Winners in Literature

Just like other fields, many writers have won Nobel Prize in literature. Here is the list of Nobel prize winners in literature from the beginning (of this prize) until now:

Nobel Prize in Literature from 1901 to 2019:

1901: Sully Prudhomme from France

1902: Theodor Mommsen from German

1903: Bjornstjerne Bjornson from Norway

1904: Frederic Mistral from France, Jose Echegaray from Spain ( two person got the prize)

1905: Henryk sienkiewicz from Poland

1906: Giosue Carducci from Italy

1907: Rudyard Kipling from United Kingdom

1908: Rudolf Christoph Eucken from Germany

1909: Selma Lagerlof from Sweden

1910: Paul von Heyse from Germany

1911: Maurice Maeterlinck from Belgium

1912: Gerhart Hauptmann from Germany

1913: Rabindranath from India

1915: Romain Rolland from France

1916: Verner Von Heidenstam from Sweden

1917: Karl Adolph Gjellerup , Henrik Pontoppidan (two persons got the prize) both were from Denmark

1919: Carl Spitteler from Switzerland

1920: Knut Hamsun from Norway

1921: Anatole France from France

1922: Jacinto Benavente from Spain

1923: William Butler Yeats from Ireland

1924: Wladyslaw Reymont from Poland

1925: George Bernard Shaw from Ireland

1926: Grazia Deledda from Italy

1927: Henri Bergson from France

1928: Sigrid Undset from Norway

1929: Thomas Mann from Germany

1930: Sinclair Lewis from United States

1931: Erik Axel Karlfeldt from Sweden

1932: John Galsworthy from United Kingdom

1933: Ivan Bunin from Russia France

1934: Luigi Pirandello from Italy

1936: Eugene O’Neill from United States

1937: Roger Martin du Gard from France

1938: Pearl S. Buck from United States

1939: Frans Eemil Sillanpaa from Finland

1944: Johannes Vilhelm Jensen from Denmark

1945: Gabriela Mistral from Chile

1946: Hermann Hesse from Switzerland

1947: Andre Gide from France

1948: T.S Eliot from United Kingdom

1949: William Faulkner from United States

1950: Bertrand Russell from United Kingdom

1951: Par Lagerkvist from Sweden

1952: Francois Mauriac from France

1953: Winston Churchill from United Kingdom

1954: Ernest Hemingway United States

1955: Halldor Laxness Iceland

1956: Juan Ramon Jimenez from Spain

1957: Albert Camus from France

1958: Boris Pasternak from Soviet Union

1959: Salvatore Quasimodo from Italy

1960: Saint-John Perse from France

1961: Ivo Andric from Yugoslavia

1962: John Steinbeck from United States

1963: Giorgos Seferis Giorges Seferis

1964: Jean Paul Sartre from France

1965: Mikhail Sholokhov from Soviet Union

1966: Shmuel Yosef Agnon from Israel, Nelly Sachs from Sweden ( two persons got the prize)

1967: Miguel Angel Asturias from Guatemala

1968: Kawabata Yasunari from Japan

1969: Samuel Beckett from Ireland

1970: Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn from Soviet Union

1971: Pablo Neruda from Chile

1972: Heinrich Boll from West Germany

1973: Patrick White from Australia

1974: Eyvind Johnson, Harry Martinson (both were from Sweden)

1975: Eugenio Montale from Italy

1976: Saul Bellow from United States

1977: Vicente Aleixandre from Spain

1978: Isaac Bashevis Singer from United States

1979: Odysseas Elytis from Greece

1980: Czesiaw Mllosz from Poland United States

1981: Ellas Canetti from United Kingdom

1982: Gabriel Garcia Marquez from Colombia

1983: William Golding United Kingdom

1984: Jaroslav Seifert from Czechosio Vakia

1985: Claude Simon from France

1986: Wole Soyinka from Nigeria

1987: Joseph Brodsky from United States

1988: Naguib Mahfouz from Egypt

1989: Camilo Jose Cela from Spain

1990: Octavio Paz from Mexico

1991: Nadine Gordimer from South Africa

1992: Derek Walcott from Saint Lucia

1993: Toni Morrison from United States

1994: Oe Kenzaburo from Japan

1995: Seamus Heaney from Ireland

1996: Wislawa Szymborska from Poland

1997: Dario Fo from Italy

1998: Jose Saramago from Portugal

1999: Gunter Grass from Germany

2000: Gao Xingjian from France

2001: V.S Naipaul from United Kingdom

2002: Imre Kertesz from Hungary

2003: J.M Coetzee from South Africa

2004: Elfriede Jelinek from Austria

2005: Harold Pinter from United Kingdom

2006: Orhan Pamuk from Turkey

2007: Doris Lessing from United Kingdom

2008: J.M.G.Le Clezio from France Mauritius

2009: Herta Muller from Germany

2010: Mario Vargas Llosa from Peru Spain

2011: Tomas Transtromer from Sweden

2012: Mo Yan from China

2013: Alice Munro from Canada

2014: Patrick Modiano from France

2015: Svetlana Alexievich from Ukraine

2016: Bob Dylan (notable as he was awarded for the reason that he created great poetic expressions in music) from United States

2017: Kazuo Ishiguro from Japan

2018: Olga Tokarczuk from Poland

2019: Peter Handke from Austria


Some Important things to remember regarding Nobel Prize in Literature:

Here are some important facts that you need to know about the Nobel Prize in literature.

  • In 1914 , 1918, 1935 and from the year 1940 – 1943 no nobel prize was awarded in literature.
  • It means from 1901 to until now, there are total seven years when no nobel prize awarded to any writer in literature.
  • In the year of 1917, 1966 and 1974 two laureates were awarded at the same time.
  • 116 laureates have been awarded with this prize.

Leave a Comment

Adblock Detected

Please support us by disabling your AdBlocker extension from your browsers for our website.